thesis publication

In the process of submitting my thesis to the online publisher for UD, I’ve learned some interesting things that I didn’t know before:

  • I have the option of Open Access or Traditional Publishing.  But Open Access costs $95… out of my pocket.  If I were currently funded by a grant, maybe I could use that, but I’m not.
  • I retain copyright and their forms grant non-exclusive rights to the publisher.  So it can go on my webpage for free anyway.
  • Although it’s not necessary for copyright, I can file with the copyright office for some benefits if there’s ever a dispute.  They offer to do it for me for $55.  This totally feels like filing taxes online.
  • They say I’ll save money by ordering some copies as I submit it.  I feel like this is a marketing ploy, cause it doesn’t say how much I’ll save.  Maybe they mean I’ll “save” dollars by buying before the next price change due to inflation?  Or it could be half price for all I know.
    • I looked up Emily Hill’s thesis on ProQuest and it looks like they offer a free PDF download (because I’m on the UD network) and offer an unbound paper copy for $44; no clue how much a hard cover is because it’s not an option.
  • Black hardcover copies with gold lettering (8.5 x 11) were $56.  It’s about $10 less to get 6 x 9 copies and less to get softcover copies.  I was really tempted to just stick it in a binder, but I’m sure I’ll want a hardcover version around in a few years anyway.
  • Print copies use color printing for free.  If I’d known, I might’ve included more color in my thesis.
  • Apparently, I get 10% royalties, but I won’t see anything until it’s at least a $25 check.  After some number of years (10? 25?), if it doesn’t net me $25, then they stop paying royalties forever, which is pretty reasonable.
  • You need to make sure to embed PDF fonts.  I haven’t thought about PDF font embedding for years, so I forgot how to even check.  You just open Adobe Acrobat Reader and go to document properties, then fonts. It’ll show which fonts are embedded or not.  Fortunately, all of my fonts were embedded.  I remember changing some permissions or symbolic links years ago to make pdflatex embed them, but I can’t remember exactly what I did.  Or maybe pdflatex just does it automatically nowadays.
Leave a Reply

